top of page
Search
Writer's pictureDoll Dreams

How To Give Your Doll A Makeover

If you have any old dolls laying around at home or some dolls that you bought from the thrift store that are in of a makeover, then you should check out this tutorial on how to make them look nice and new again! (Or if you don't have any dolls in bad condition at the moment but you're bored you can also read my blog and watch my tutorial video too lol)


What you'll need :

♥ Scissors

♥ Spray Bottle With Water

♥ Comb

♥ Hair Elastics

♥ Cute Hair Accessories (Optional)




Psssst! You can watch me give an Ariel doll I got from the thrift store a makeover here!






Step 1 : So, what you're gonna want to do first is take your spray bottle and spray your doll's hair until it is damp. Then you're gonna add some hair oil or wash the doll's hair with conditioner like I did in the video and comb through it starting from the bottom and making your way up until the doll's hair is smooth.


Step 2 : After you're done with the combing, your doll will probably have very bad-looking split-ends so then you'll need to give her hair a small trim to even it out.


Step 3 : After your doll's hair is looking neat, you can straighten or curl it's hair only if the hair is made out of nylon or saran. Those materials are pretty heat resistant so it's great if those are the materials your doll's hair is made out of so you'll be able to style it in different ways. (Usually when people reroot a doll these materials are what they use since they're heat resistant. I will be using them when I start rerooting! :D)


Step 4 : You're doll should be looking really nice now but what if there are stains on her face? I didn't need to remove any stains from my Ariel doll in the video but I'm gonna tell you how if that's your case. If there is a marker/paint stain on your doll, I recommend using hand-sanitiser and maybe also hand/body lotion. For me, I found hand-sanitiser the best. It works really well on a doll's head or body. (Keep in mind that if your doll's body is made out of rubber, it would take longer than if it's plastic.)


IMPORTANT TIP : Never use nail polish remover on a doll's face. It will get rid of the stain along with the doll's factory paint. Only do that if you are planning on repainting the doll's face.


Step 5 : You are now finished with your doll's makeover! If you want, you can add some hair accessories like a ribbon or a bow like I did and pick out a nice outfit. You can also replace the doll's body with a made to move doll's body for more articulation. I will be doing a tutorial on how to body swap a doll in the future.


And that't all for now. Have fun giving your dolls makeovers! Stay tuned for more tips, tricks and tutorials on how to take care of your dolls. If you're a dollaholic like me, then subscribe to my Youtube channel for more!



Have a great day! :D



8 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page